ICC Championship trophy Past Winners


ICC Championship trophy Past Winners


ICC Championship trophy considers as the second most weighty cricket warfare after the World Cup emulation. It is an ODI cricket tournament which is embodied by International Cricket Council. The tournament is held after every two years with eight participants. The inaugural season apprehended in 1998 in Bangladesh while the competition known as KnockOut trophy for it’s playing format.  The first season grabbed by South Africa who won the trophy by 4 wickets against West Indies. After the inaugural two season the competition has changed it’s format from Knockout to Championship trophy. It became the third season of the competition hosted in Sri Lanka with the new era of the game with new format.


Trophy Title Year Champions Runner-up Host
ICC KnockOut Trophy 1998 South Africa West Indies Bangladesh
ICC KnockOut Trophy 2000 New Zealand India Kenya
ICC Champions Trophy 2002 India & Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
ICC Champions Trophy 2004 West Indies England England
ICC Champions Trophy 2006 Australia West Indies India
ICC Champions Trophy 2009 Australia New Zealand South Africa
ICC Champions Trophy 2013 India England England
ICC Champions Trophy 2017 TBC TBC England

As well we can see India and Australia became the most successful participants of the competition who had grabbed the title for two times each. India being the defending champion of the tournament who bit England by 5 runs. They also the co-winner of 2002 titles with Sri Lanka. On the other hand Australia won it 2006 and 2009 in a row.

In 2004 England hosted the fourth season Champions trophy. The Caribbean snatched the title from the host country by 2 wickets. The Oval were fully silent when the England defeated at home. It was really a embarrassing situation for the host front of the fans.


The fifth season was hosted in India which was grabbed by Australia. The final event had played between Australia and West Indies where Australia packed them within 138. It was so easy match for the champions and they won by 6 wickets.

The next season also enthralled by Australia against New Zealand. This time it hosted at South Africa. In 2009 the competition supposed to host at Pakistan but later moved to South Africa due to security concern. New Zealand defeated by 6 wickets in final and became the runner-up of the tournament. It was amazing to straight win for the most strongest team of the world. After that Australia could not able to win the title for once.

This season it going to be hosted in England and Wales again. The eight qualifiers teams are Australia, India, Bangladesh,  Sri Lanka, Pakistan, New Zealand, England and South Africa. West Indies kicked out from the competition this season.  All things are set for the competition and schedule announced to be started from 1st June. The final event will hold on 18th June. ICC expected a great season of the competition and world wide cricket fans keenly awaiting for the most happening tournament. So guys keep eyes in our site to get more sports info and update.